Fierce Conversations

fierce-conversations-coverI just completed my second reading of Fierce Conversations, and I am officially adding it to my list of books every human should read. The list also contains Mindset by Carol Dweck and Shifting the Monkey by Todd Whitaker.

Why?

Contrary to what the title might lead you to believe, one of the major themes in Fierce Conversations is the power of listening and silence. Coming from a big Italian family this concept is foreign to me. Thus, it has become a true focus. I must focus on being silent. Instead of trying to immediately solve a problem, I need to listen to ensure I completely understand the problem first. This comes from asking questions and being open, completely open, to the responses I receive.

Additionally, the book discusses the importance of facing issues. This doesn’t mean “guns blazing,” head on collision, with a problem, because that causes defensiveness and hostility. Instead, we simply need to have the courage to discuss an issue even if it is challenging or uncomfortable.

The book outlines a protocol to navigate a fierce conversation. This is not necessarily a graphic organizer you would whip out in the middle of the chat, but it does allow you to prepare yourself for the turns a fierce conversation might take.

I highly recommend adding this book to your summer reading list. I am confident you will not be disappointed.

Listen to Susan Scott discuss:

One thought on “Fierce Conversations

Leave a Reply

